Fast Tip Wednesday: 5 Essential Items to Vintage Living

28 Feb

Happy Wednesday Dolls! Welcome to another posting of Fast Tips brought to you by your team at JBR Clothing!

This week we wanted to bring you the 5 essential items every retro/pin up woman should have in her possession!

1. Red Lips

Every vintage loving woman should own a red lipstick or lip liner to use! I never knew the difference that a wonderful red could make until recently. I always felt that red would overpower me, but it really doesn’t. I tried using red lipstick one day when I did a lighter look for my eyes, everyone I ran into that day complimented me on the look. They said the red really made my skin glow! I will never be without one now!

2. Good Eyeliner

Now I personally like to use the MAC eyeliner pots and use a thin brush to get my preferred look, but if you prefer a liquid I would suggest the Kat Von D line through Sephora. A good eyeliner is essential to being able to make sure you can create the cat eye look that is so popular for a retro look. With the eyeliner pot I am able to make the winged portion of my eye as thin or thick as I like.

3. Shapewear

OK, I know this is a subject matter most women don’t want to talk about, but there is no shame in it! When I find a dress that I really love, regardless of if it is a swing style or wiggle, I like to wear it with a good set of shapewear! There is something about having it on that not only makes me feel more comfortable in my dress, but it makes me love the way the outfit looks. I feel it really is that extra touch to connecting it with the past. I can’t imagine that many women left the house without their best shapewear on. Maybe that is just me.

4. One Pair of Round Toed Pumps

Regardless of what color you like for your shoes, you must have at least one pair of round toed pumps. While many other styles may come into season (the pointy look is coming back to the mainstream if you care) a round toed pump is classic. It will go with any outfit, I promise!

5. Bobby Pins

Any vintage/retro/pin up or rockabilly woman will tell you this, you will need to use bobby pins if you plan on getting a true vintage look. Of course, many women will say this is universal, and it can be, but retro women know the truth; I live by my bobby pins. Bobby pins allow me to make quick victory rolls, I can do pin curls if I choose, there are so many things that are open to me.

Of course, all of this would be including the perfect retro dress! If you already have a dress, all of these items are things you will need in your arsenal of goods to complete your look. These are the essentials to start your retro lifestyle!

Love,

Your Team at JBR Clothing

2 Responses to “Fast Tip Wednesday: 5 Essential Items to Vintage Living”

  1. Must Have Boxes February 28, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    A bold red lips works wonders!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com/

  2. imogen88 March 4, 2013 at 8:14 am #

    Thank you for the follow!! Following in return, this post have tweeted as it is very useful for vintage enthusiasts. Great stuff! – Moni88 Art of Elegance Fair

Leave a Reply

