Fast Tip Wednesday: Polishing Patent Leather Pumps

13 Feb

All right Dolls, it is that time of the week again, fast tip Wednesday!

This week we are bringing you one of our all time favorite tips; how to polish your patent leather pumps. Now ladies, I am not sure about all of you, but I LIVE in my patent leather heels. I have a pair of round toed pumps and a peep toe pump. They are my go to shoes.

Like any woman, the heels I love I wear the most frequently. Because of my love affair with patent leather, I am oftentimes left with shoes that get scuffed from my feet rubbing under my desk or walking.

I used to get so bummed out thinking that I would have to retire yet another pair of my favorites. What was worse was having to find a replacement pair that felt like the ones I had just given up (HA!). After going through this with three pairs of shoes I was lamenting to a girlfriend one day about my problems and she said to me, “Um, why haven’t you used a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser?”

………..

“WHAT!?!?!?!?”

How have I lived my life without knowing this!?!? This advice could not have come at a better time, my friend told me as I was preparing to take my engagement photos! I immediately went home and opened my cleaning closet to find a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.

Now for those of you who have never used one before, I would recommend cutting a small piece. These things really are magic! I only ever use a small piece when I am cleaning, so I used a piece that was roughly an inch to a half inch off the top of the eraser. I then followed the directions on the box for cleaning. I wet the erase and went to town on my heels!

In a matter of five minutes my heels looked fantastic! Most of the surface scuff marks had been removed and they looked close to new. I will say that if you have deep scuffs or areas that have been worn and are rough, this will not work. This is for basic surface marks. I use an old hand towel to dry off my shoes after I have finished using the magic eraser. I swear, they look so much better!

After having done this myself, I felt that I had to share this tip as one of our posts. I know there are a lot of women who could save a pair of shoes they think are looking a little sad.

As always, try it out at home and tell us how it works for you! We love to hear what you think of our tips!

Love,

Your Team at JBR Clothing

One Response to “Fast Tip Wednesday: Polishing Patent Leather Pumps”

  1. Jessica Meloche February 13, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    I use magic erasers on almost everything! Never thought to try them on my patent shoes…thank you!

Leave a Reply

